About

The New Jersey State Chess Federation (NJSCF) is an organization dedicated to the advancement of chess. For many years the NJSCF has been holding chess tournaments in order to give New Jersey players an outlet to play. The NJSCF has also been supporting chess clubs around the state both with funding, as well as advertising through our top notch magazine Atlantic Chess News (ACN).

Over recent years the NJSCF has started the Sets for Vets program and has donated thousands of dollars in chess sets, boards, and clocks to veteran’s homes all over the state! Another of the area in NJ chess that we excel in is our scholastic chess program. We provide several tournaments throughout the year in order both to give kids a place to play, but also the chance to pay in a state championship!

Finally, with our two big name national tournaments every year, The World Amateur Team East and the Amateur East Individual tournament the NJSCF stays active in both state-wide and national chess. Come join us at a tournament today!

Executive Board

Hal Sprechman - President

(732) 259-3881 , Halsprechman@gmail.com

Noreen Davisson - Secretary, Chair of Scholastics Comittee

davisson@optonline.net

Leo Dubler – Vice President
(856) 396-0961, LBDIII@aol.com

Peter Tamburro – Treasurer
(973) 984-3832, PTamburro@aol.com

NJSCF Board Members

TBD - Ethics Committee

Dov Gorman – Webmaster

(703) 989-6867  dgorman@darsemail.com

Past Presidents

Anthony Cottell (201) 438-6140, acabonack@yahoo.com

Steve Doyle (973) 538-1697, ESDOYLE@aol.com

Leroy Dubeck (856) 428-0304,  LWDubeck@aol.com

Roger Inglis, (973) 794-4601, rwij@optonline.net

Joe Ippolito (973) 402-0049, Ippy1@aol.com

Glenn Petersen (732) 252-8388, chesslies@aol.com

Trustees

Rob Bernard minusone@alumni.princeton.edu

Bill Bluestone (732) 603-8850, hipbob1@yahoo.com

Kevin E. Chen,  thekecmaster@gmail.com

Render Cutts,  rcutts@lpcnj.com 

Stephen Arnold Dick (609) 254-3127, Stephen@ATKMchessSets.com

Henry Feltman (856) 845-5094, WB2MSH1@verizon.net

Dean Ippolito (908) 534-4318, dean@deanofchess.com

David Jungblut (609) 513-8237, Jung111333@aol.com

Mike Khodarkovsky (973) 299-0932, MKhodarkovsky@yahoo.com

Aaron Kiedes (973) 343-3260, akiedes@gmail.com

Joanne Lim,  joannelim@optonline.net

Todd Lunna (732) 946-7379, Lunnaco@aol.com

Joe Lux (201) 792-1606, JoeLuxChess@aol.com

Mike Somers (973) 228-7039, hammer64@comcast.net

Diana Tulman,  Diana@icanj.net